Europa Nostra

EU Prize for Cultural Heritage

1 octobre 2017

Le Prix européen pour l'héritage culturel est attribué chaque année pour promouvoir les meilleures pratiques et expériences européennes, pour sensibiliser le public à l'héritage culturel européen, et pour encourager les futures initiatives d'excellence grâce aux vertus de l'exemple.

The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage was launched in 2002 by the European Commission as part of the implementation of the Culture Programme, which has now been succeeded by the Creative Europe Programme. Europa Nostra, the Voice of Cultural Heritage in Europe, was reappointed in 2014 to run this awards scheme on the basis of its long experience in publicly recognising individual or joint excellence in the field of cultural heritage at a European level.

Outstanding heritage achievements will be awarded in the following categories:

  • Conservation
  • Research
  • Dedicated service by individuals or organisations
  • Education, training and awareness-raising

Criteria for the assessment of entries include excellence in the work executed and preliminary research conducted, as well as respect for artistic, cultural and social value, setting, authenticity and integrity. Special attention will also be paid to sustainability, interpretation and presentation, educational work, funding and management, social responsibility, and audience development. Entries can be on a scale ranging from small to large, local to international, and should display a standard of work considered outstanding in a European context.

The Europa Nostra Awards will honour every year outstanding heritage achievements from all parts of Europe. The number of awards every year will depend on the type and quality of entries received.

European dimension of the project

2018 is the European Year of Cultural Heritage. On this occasion, the Jury of each Category will give Special attention to any European dimension in a project.

Among such dimensions that may be taken into account are:

  • Collaboration between organisations or individuals in two or more European countries on a particular project.
  • Contribution to a developing sense of European identity or European social cohesion.
  • Enrichment and deepening of symbolic meanings and aesthetic values drawn from European tradition.

Conditions of entry

Select the most appropriate category and submit one entry form only per project or field of work. The same project may be submitted in one category only.


  • Architectural heritage: single buildings or groups of buildings in a rural or urban setting
  • Building additions or alterations, or new building projects within historic areas
  • Industrial and engineering structures and sites
  • Cultural landscapes: historic urban environments or townscapes, city or town squares and streetscapes
  • Historic parks and gardens, larger areas of designed landscape or of cultural, environmental and/or agricultural significance
  • Archaeological sites, including underwater archaeology
  • Works of art and collections: collections of artistic and historic significance or old works of art
  • Intangible cultural heritage
  • Digitisation projects of cultural heritage


All winning entries will receive an award certificate as well as a wall plaque or a trophy.

In addition, winners of a Grand Prix will receive a monetary award of € 10.000.

Fleche vers un site exterieur (nouvelle fenêtre)Appel à candidature

Fleche vers un site exterieur (nouvelle fenêtre)Apply here